Traffic Violations Jeopardize Your License And Employment
Traffic violations seem very minor to many people; however, they can have major long-term consequences. Ignoring traffic penalties can lead to huge fines and the loss of your driver’s license. Warrants or unnecessary criminal charges can put your future employment prospects in danger. If you have previous violations, you need an experienced defense lawyer to ensure that driving mistakes do not wreck your future.
Farris & Thomas Law is a firm serving Wilson County and the surrounding communities. We represent people concerned about how traffic violations may affect their driving record, license and job prospects. Our criminal defense lawyers fight hard to get our clients a favorable outcome.
What types of violations go to traffic court in North Carolina?
You have a right to challenge any traffic violation if you believe there is no basis for the ticket. The attorneys of Farris & Thomas Law can handle tickets related to:
- Driving without insurance
- Illegal turns
- Running a stop sign
- Driving with a revoked license
- Driving while impaired
- Driving without registration
- School bus violations
- Noise ordinances
- Underage drinking violations
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
A guilty plea to any of those offenses may add points to your license and other serious penalties. Your insurance rates are also likely to increase as a result of those offenses. If you cannot afford fines, increases to your insurance premiums or the possible loss of your license, consult a North Carolina traffic lawyer to learn more about your legal options.
What qualifies as reckless driving in North Carolina and what are the penalties?
Reckless driving in North Carolina is defined as driving in a public area without due caution and circumspection, or in a manner likely to endanger any person or property in the area. Such a broad definition can apply to a wide range of behavior, including speeding. Someone caught going 15 miles per hour (mph) over the limit in a zone where the speed limit is 55 mph or less, or 10 mph over in a 65 mph zone could face a reckless driving charge. Even if a driver was in total control of their car and maintaining their lane, excessive speeding can qualify as reckless driving.
The penalties are severe. Reckless driving counts as a misdemeanor in North Carolina, and if you are convicted you could face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail. A conviction also carries a four-point penalty on your driving record and a suspended license for as much as one year. Fines may total $1,000. It is important to consult with an experienced defense attorney to avoid the maximum penalties.
What are the penalties for DUI in North Carolina?
Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) is a common mistake, but one the law takes very seriously. Someone stopped with a blood alcohol content of .08% while operating a personal vehicle can be charged with DUI, a felony in North Carolina. A first-time conviction results in the driver automatically losing their license for one year as well as a fine of up to $2,000. A person convicted of DUI must also spend at least one day in jail and can be sentenced to as much as two years for the first offense.
The penalties for DUI also increase with each offense, until the fourth conviction. Once a person has been sentenced for three prior DUIs, he or she is required to serve one to three years in jail and have his or her driver’s license permanently revoked upon a subsequent conviction. The attorneys of Farris & Thomas Law are experienced at representing clients accused of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Consult with one of our lawyers to learn more about DUI defense in North Carolina.
Contact our firm to learn more about traffic laws in North Carolina
Drivers who have been cited for moving violations find that they have to pay fines and increased insurance premiums, and have difficulty getting to work. If you ignore their penalties you may be arrested, endangering your job prospects and your credit score. Farris & Thomas Law represents people facing traffic violations in Wilson County, North Carolina. If you face a traffic charge, contact us at 252-360-1379 or online to schedule an appointment.
Se habla español.